Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 01 May 2024, 02:43

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 05:58 

I have been using widescreen monitors for only a few months. During that time I have used two 17" laptop monitors and two Samsung widescreens. Being new to widescreens, I ran into a number of difficulties trying to play games, particularly older ones that were developed before widescreens became popular.

I think a sticky should be posted to include pointers about making basic adjustments to display properties, video-card control panels, and monitors. I have learned how to do a number of these things on my own, but it would have been more convenient and I would have learned faster if I could have read a sticky post here about making such adjustments. I have seen the list here regarding mods and patches that improve gameplay on widescreens, but I think that basic adjustments would often be enough to satisfy many gamers.

Maybe this website already has a sticky post including good coverage of these basic adjustments. In that case, please excuse me. :doh

PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 18:36 
Editors
Editors

Hi there,
A summary of basic stuff could surely come in handy, but maybe getting to know what things like 'aspect ratios', 'stretch', 'pixel-based' etc. are, then trying to find the best way to run your games in the light of this knowledge and your own desires (and with the help of the MGL), is more adequate.

What sort of adjustments do you think would deserve a sticky ? Windowed mode for games, 1:1 scaling for monitors, things like that ?

PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 19:42