Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 10 Sep 2024, 17:19

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 05 Jun 2007, 04:21 

Does anyone think that after all the new DX10 games come out, developers will stop focusing on TH2G reolutions and will render our devices useless... or will games like Crysis and Alan Wake be supported by it ? I really wanna know because I don't know whether to go with the TH2G or not if it will be obsolete in the future.

PostPosted: 05 Jun 2007, 04:35 

If I was a marketing or product manager at Matrox, I would be giving away a lot of TH2G to developers and working with them to build up support in their games for this item.

Smells of lost opportunity here if its not already happening.

I remember working with Nvidia in a previous life and they gave away tons of hardware, development time and etc... to build up their support base.

Look at them now and all the optimized games for their GPUs...

Matrox: take some notes please!

PostPosted: 05 Jun 2007, 10:32 
Editors
Editors

From what I know Matrox do give units to developers all the time ... and are there to help them if needed.
(I'm not a developer but they sent me one to do the review)

As for the original question ...
Developers have never really focused on TH2G resolutions ... most games in the SGU don't work out of the box they require config hacks which are built into the SGU
Other games are fixed with 3rd party hacks ... by the likes of Racer_S.
Only a few work out of the box and I think most of those just happen to work ... not necessarily because the developers designed them to work in TH.

A few are actually developed to work in TH but they are a minority ...
rFactor is one i believe and another is Alpha Prime ... you can see the TH2G logo on the Alpha Prime site ... http://www.alpha-prime.com/