Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 02 Jul 2024, 23:04

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 09 Jan 2012, 21:03 

EDIT: I've decided to go with AMD, since Asus just revealed their version of the 7970, which has 4 Displayports! No tearing! Thanks for the feedback anyway, couldn't have done it without you guys.

Okay people, please bear with me through this wall of text. English isn't my native language, so do not hesitate to ask questions of something is unclear.

Hi, I am Moose. I am new to multi-monitor gaming, so I was eager to try it out. I went straight for AMD Eyefinity and never thought of Nvidia Surround (yes, I was a fanboy). I've been spending a lot of time here on this forum and did a lot of research. I came to the conclusion that I had to buy an AMD 6950 Flex edition, so I could hook up my three DVI/HDMI monitors without having to worry about screen tearing. However, I came to a halt. The Flex edition cards could no longer be supplied. I had to find a new solution. Again a lot of research and realised I had just two choices in the end. These choices were found by making decisions time-wise and budget-wise. Also, I do not want any screen tearing issues. The following emerged:

1) Wait for an AMD 7-series card to be released with three similar ports (99% chance that's going to be mini-DP's)
Pros:
(Probably) 3GB memory
(Probably) within budget
Strong GPU
Cons:
Spending an extra €100 ($127) for three adapters

2) Buy three Nvidia cards (my motherboard has three PCI-e x16 slots. HOWEVER, one of the PCI-e x16 slots runs in x4 mode)
Pros:
No screen tearing
No extra money for adapters
One display connected to one card
Cons:
I might need a new PSU (the one I use now has 600 watts)

Now, if I choose option 2 (this will most likely happen), I have a few questions: