Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 30 Jun 2024, 04:08

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 15 Jul 2004, 23:26 

Sorry I'm somewhat new to widescreen so I have a few questions, First of all what is native wide screen? and how does it differ to normal widescreen.

Also the games in the compatable out of the box list does that refer to (full screen) - wide screen or just (windowed) wide screen.

Last of all I have ordered an ATI X800 XT PE card and the new apple 23" cinema monitor for my pc, just was curious to what screen res I can expect to run widescreen games in, hope I made the right choice...

Many thanks for the help in advance and great forum it's just what I have been looking for :D

Wideboy

PostPosted: 17 Jul 2004, 14:25 
Editors
Editors

First, welcome to the WSGF! :D

Next, answers to various questions...

Native widescreen is just when a game will work in a widescreen resolution without needed to be hacked/edited. Native and Normal widescreen are the same thing... widescreen on PC's currently comes in two forms: 16:9 (anamorphic widescreen, like in films) and 16:10 ratio.

The list of game in 'Out of the Box' are games that run in widescreen. Given that few people will play games in a window willingly, all of them likely refer to fullscreen. Besides, if you can play fullscreen, who wants to play in a window? :lol:

As for you purchasing decisions... wow. Pricey! But that will be a really nice setup. An ATi X800XT PE should be able to run any modern game at max detail (or around there) at the 23" displays native 1920x1200 resolution. Some yet to be released things may struggle a bit, but there shouldn't be any problems, even with something as card hungry as Far Cry.

Hope some of this helps. Any more questions, feel free to ask. :D

PostPosted: 17 Jul 2004, 17:03 
Founder
Founder