Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 30 Jun 2024, 04:23

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: 09 Sep 2012, 05:19 

I thought I'd post the fix for my issues. The horizontal sparkles and occasional flicker was due to a defective DVI to DVI cable. I replaced cable and that issue is gone. When the monitor and GPU were not able to communicate well over DVI the CCC would adjust the desktop which caused bouncing between Windows and Fullscreen mode.

I can now play BF3 and Crysis2 smooth with no issues (unless GPU goes over 87C then it locks up but that's a cooling issue I found while testing various stuff).

Hi,
I'm new to wide screen gaming and new to ATI (been using NVidia for many years). I have three Dell E2311H monitors and dual XFX Double D FX-785A-CDFC Radeon HD 7850 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 cards. Two monitors are using DVI and one is using active miniDP to DVI. The monitor that is connected to active miniDP to DVI will sometimes flicker, shake, or have sparkle looking things moving horitzontally. This behavior only occurs in Windows 7 desktop. I have not noticed this behavior while playing Battlefield 3, Civ V, Crysis 2, or even while watching Netflix full screen. Window mode this happens. The other two monitors do not have this behavior.

Running resolution at 5760 x 1080, 60 Hz refresh. I have not tweaked or messed with any Catalyst settings. Pretty much setup a Eyefinity Display Group and nothing else. Catalyst Version 12.8

I bought two active miniDP to DVI adapters and both have the same issue. The miniDP are "HIS Mini DisplayPort to Single Link-DVI Eyefinity Adapter HMDPSDVIEYE Mini DisplayPort to DVI Interface" from NewEgg.

Any assistance is appreciated.

PostPosted: 12 Sep 2012, 20:20